Touch Bar Blues

I’m on my third MacBook Pro.

I remember the thrill of ditching Windows for my first MacBook Pro and feeling ultra-cool as the Apple logo lit up on the cover. Google and the Cloud liberated me from hard wired office email and document sharing standards, and I could remain Excel-Word-Powerpoint productive with the rest of the company. I truly had the best of all worlds.

Connectivity wasn’t an issue. In the beginning there were a few problems attaching to older projectors as sometimes the adapter didn’t work. But that was early days, and soon, whipping out a Mac or a PC in company and customer meetings was a non-event. When my 15″ inch storage got too small, I installed a 1TB replacement SSD. And when I thought the next 15″ got too big and heavy, I sacrificed quad core for dual core in the 13″ version, and never noticed the difference. Importantly, I was able to connect to all my devices as before.

I was looking forward to the new MacBooks.

I was hoping both the 15″ and 13″ would lose some ounces, svelte the design, get faster, and blow the lid off storage capacity, all topped by an OLED touchscreen display. And the assumption – of course – was that I’d be able to integrate seamlessly into the office just as before.

Well, it isn’t to be. Shame. I don’t need a touchbar, and I cannot even connect to my iPhone 7 without an adapter. I’m going to need another adapter to connect to my back up drives (yes I do use Cloud backup but I play it safe) and I haven’t even begun to think about how I connect to the company projectors, let alone the myriad versions in customers offices around the globe. So until USBC is truly universal, and upgrading means I have no connection issues, my trusty 13″ will do a perfectly adequate job for a few more years.

I’m fine with Apple pushing us early into new standards, but it should be taken easy. Progress on PCs today is not what it was ten years ago. The latest is not today necessarily the greatest. Much less in a company environment. So I’ll wait. Meanwhile, that HP Spectre looks very nice… does that make me a “MacBook refugee”?

by JD

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Connectivity, Mobile technology, PCs

Leave a Reply

