An interview with CONTEXT’s new VP for Global Research Analysis: Chris Connery

What’s your role at CONTEXT, Chris?
As VP for Global Analysis and Research, I will be helping CONTEXT expand its technology tracking and forecasting services beyond the EMEA region to offer a top-down global view of various key ICT market segments.  We are introducing a new 3D-Printing service that offers a global view of these markets (and of the collective market total) by tracking the space quarterly by key regions and technologies as well as leverage supply-chain based forecast methodologies to project them going forward.

What attracted you to CONTEXT in the first place?
CONTEXT has been well known in the ICT industry for many years.  In a prior life, my Marketing and Marketing Intelligence teams were CONTEXT subscribers.  The value of deep, channel level sell through data has always been appreciated by me whether in my brand management roles in the first half of my career or on the analyst side here in the second half.

Where were you before?
I am now headed into my 25th year participating in the IT industry. The first half of my career was focused brand management, marketing and product development for leading US and Japanese brands in the IT sector including Zenith, NEC and Mitsubishi.  In the early 2000s I moved into the Analyst side of the sector with DisplaySearch, which leveraged key value-chain research to build insights and forecasts. US research company NPD acquired DisplaySearch in 2005 to expand its global presence.  At NPD, I continued to manage global efforts for research, analysis and forecasting for PC related markets but then turned my attention to the 3D-Printing space a few years ago.

What aspects of your career thus far are you most proud of?
I had the privilege of launching some of the world’s first notebook PCs while with Zenith Data Systems in the 90s and some of the world’s first flat-panel products when with NEC and NEC-Mitsubishi.  Being involved in product development and seeing core manufacturing from the factory-out was an invaluable experience for me early in my career.  Then being able to champion products to markets across the globe added to this excitement.

What never fails to bring a smile to your face?
Seeing children interact with technology for the first time. Young children seeing a 3D-Printer for the first time today, act much like those using their first PC in the 80s or their first Tablet not that long ago.  “I am not quite sure what it can do for me, but I WANT one” is often the sentiment.

What is the best or worst business advice you have received and from whom?
An early mentor of mine would often note “through chaos there is opportunity.”  I’ve always appreciated helping to bring order to chaos, such as when championing a product to market or when helping to bring focus to emerging market segments by way of hard, quantifiable data.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
Aside from spending time with family here in the US, I very much enjoy travelling.  When travelling for work or for pleasure I continually think of the Mark Twain quote “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 3D Printing

Leave a Reply

